To help our readers stay abreast of the changing travel and tourism landscape, Travel News will bring ongoing updates on the countries that have announced the reopening of their borders, and when.

Updates from July 31-August 6

Namibia opened its borders to tourists from a selected list of low-risk international markets on August 3. International tourists permitted to travel to Namibia will be required to present a 72-hour negative Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) Test Result on arrival. Tourists will not be subjected to a mandatory quarantine but must remain in their initial destination for a seven-day period, during which a COVID test will be conducted. Provided the results are negative, they may resume their travels.

Balihas announced that the island will be reopening its borders for international tourism on September 11. All tourists will be required to bring a negative COVID-19 test, otherwise they will be tested on arrival at their own expense. The countries that will be allowed entry have not been announced yet.

Costa Rica reopened it borders on August 1 to welcome tourists from the EU, Canada and the UK. Travellers have to provide a negative PCR test result within the past 48 hours, on arrival.

Dominica, an island in the Caribbean, reopens for tourism on August 7, and will be accepting tourists from all nations to visit. Entry requirements will include a negative PCR test no older than 72 hours before departure, a rapid test on arrival, and an online health questionnaire.

Hawaii will reopen for national and international tourists on September 1. Incoming travellers must have a valid COVID-19 Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT) within 72 hours of boarding their flight to Hawaii and must show proof of a negative test result on arrival to avoid the 14-day quarantine.